Hypocrisy of My Teachers Union: If It Looks Like A Duck & Quacks Like A Duck, It’s Duck, Baby


Can I take a quick break from the Testing Games to point out a quick example of hypocrisy?

Specifically, I’d like to note the hypocrisy of our Florida FEA union suing our state for the Best & Brightest scholarship, based on it being a form of age discrimination against older teachers, when our own local union bargained to give huge raises to young teachers and nothing to old fogies like me. Really? Really?

Old fogies unite.

Here is my point:

On Monday, the Florida Education Association put some heft behind the words, filing a complaint with the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and the Florida Commission on Human Relations. The complaint states:

 

“The exemption of first-year teachers from the requirement that they provide evidence of being rated “highly effective” under the respondent employers’ performance evaluation system further discriminates against and has a disparate impact on teachers older than 40 years old. First-year teachers are overwhelmingly younger than 40 years of age.

OK. Makes sense. They filed a lawsuit.

But, now this. Our local Lee County union, TALC, just released it’s proposed contract changes, bargained for local Lee county teachers. Turns out, older teachers won’t see a penny of increase in their pay.

Not a penny.

But, younger, newer teachers are getting a hefty chunk. Very hefty.

How is that not age discrimination?

Why would our union sue against age discrimination and then commit the act themselves?

Hypocrisy.¬†Call that duck what it is …

duck

Wake Up. Our unions. Our contracts. Our choice. Our vote.

ps. I would provide a copy/link of our local union contract changes proposal but, even though we must vote in just a few days, the official document has not been sent out to members by our local union. So, instead, I will borrow the comment of a wonderful Lee County teacher who posted this online:

“I know you all work hard for us, but I, too, am very disappointed. If you look at how much I have made in the last 10 years, it hasn’t changed very much. I am working towards my retirement and I’m disheartened by how people who have given so much to our district are constantly left out.

 

The idea to increase the beginning teacher’s salaries is to bring in more people on an annual contract and to appease those who are thinking of looking elsewhere for employment. Just like the Best and the Brightest “Scholarship” helps Teach For America and it’s corporate and political backers, this just helps some.

 

When I first started teaching I would get so excited to see the possibility of what I would be getting at my retirement when the forms came in the mail. I didn’t realize that they were figuring in 6% raise each year in their predictions. As it is now, I would make a little more than half of what I make now, and for each year I work, my future cost of living increase goes down. It was definitely bait and switch.

 

New teachers, realize that you will be me someday. Do you want to be left out after you have put so many years into the system? Do you want the book, computer, and test companies taking money from our families’ lives? We ALL deserve more!”

Bravo. I could not have said it better. Do the right thing, Lee. Expect better.

#JustVoteNo

Leave a Reply

