Behind the Test – Kicking off my new blog series. #BehindTheTest


I have recently considered doing a regular pod cast on education. I debated a name for this new series. Tonight, I decided on a name. While listening to my favorite podcast, a 1930’s radio show entitled, ‘Behind the Mike’ I decided to call my show ‘Behind the Test’.

I hope to dive deep into this recent obsession with high stakes testing in schools. To start off this announcement, I will share a tweet by a friend today. She is opting her child out of testing.

Retweeted  (@MSGunderson): My son, who is in 8th grade and opted out, asked me to write this on his forearm in protest. http://t.co/HlkPnPfND5

This is the state of testing in education today.

Read the writing on the wall … on the arms … behind the test.

To repost friend and fellow education advocate, Dr. Mark Naison : “Interrogation of opting out children by lawyers for the Chicago Public Schools is one of the sickest examples of police state tactics I have heard of in some time- a new low at a time when the bar of decency and morality has already been lowered substantially. We all need to stand up against this as if it were our own children being interrogated, because it is only a matter of time before others in power duplicate this outrage.”

More on Chicago Schools here:

http://preaprez.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/as-cps-sends-investigators-into-schools-to-interrogate-opt-out-students/

First podcast tomorrow, March 22nd. #BehindTheTest

.

Behind The Mike:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZ43UC5tIOY

Leave a Reply

