VAM made me do it – Florida’s teacher evaluation system #ForgiveMe @dianeravitch


I am thinking of ranking my pets by VAM scores.
 
I figure I will judge my dog based on the amount of cat litter I find on the floor and I will judge my cat by the amount of dog hair I find on the couch. To be fair, I will factor in variables like the number of frogs I find on our truck in a week and the depth of the hole the rodent in my backyard is digging.
 
Of course, I am not telling my animals exactly which factors will be judged… and I will be basing the amount of food they get upon the score they receive (minus 200 and divided by the coefficient of BS, squared).
 
What do you think? Will they love me more for giving them this opportunity?

#Meow

.

VAM = FL Teacher Evaluation System: #HugeFail

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/wp/2012/12/03/a-value-added-travesty-for-an-award-winning-teacher/

Image

Pic via terriblycute.com

 

2 thoughts on “VAM made me do it – Florida’s teacher evaluation system #ForgiveMe @dianeravitch

  1. I love VAM. I improved 500% as a teacher last year. Now, if I can just figure out what I did, and write a book about it, I can quit teaching and go around giving motivational talks.

    • Ah yes, but if that improvement drops to only improving 499% next year … you will be needs improvement. No where to go but up. PS. If you figure out the formula, let me know. #VamIsAScam

Leave a Reply

