When folks say money can’t buy everything… remind them that it can buy some #pffft .. Response to Matus opinion on parent trigger


Well, Ron.

When I read your blog post, I had one heck of a response. But, as I scroll through the comments below, I see that many well spoken, highly educated, caring activists have already covered the basic objections. So, ditto what they say.

There was a better story here, Ron.

A story of hard work, dedication, true grit. A story of folks giving up every waking moment of their days and nights to raise their voices.

There was a victory here. We worked hard for it and we got it. That was the real story.

You missed it.
Oh, well, Ron. Maybe next time…

.

Oh, and one last thought. I must say, your post had me spitting fire. I was thinking thoughts, like ‘Et tu, Brute?’ I mean, it just seemed so unlike you to write such a slanted piece. I just couldn’t wrap my head around it. But, after I posted the comment above, I went back and did a little reading on you. I found this statement:

“Ron has left the Tampa Bay Times to take the post of assistant director of policy and public affairs at Step Up For Students, the Tampa-based group that oversees Florida’s corporate tax credit scholarship program.”

.

Oh, OK, Ron. I get it.

So when you wrote, “But I know that kind of talk won’t get us rowing in the same direction,”

I misunderstood. I thought we were still rowing in the same direction.

Good luck in your new position, Ron. 

We will be right here.

Rowing away…

As the African says: 

This is my tale which I have told, 

 if it be sweet, if it be not sweet, 

take somewhere else and let some return to me.

This story ends with me still rowing.

~Anne Sexton

.

In response to “Florida parent trigger debate didn’t bring out best from established parent groups” a blog post by Ron Matus,  March 13, 2012 : http://www.redefinedonline.org/2012/03/florida-parent-trigger-debate-didnt-bring-out-best-from-established-parent-groups/

 

2 thoughts on “When folks say money can’t buy everything… remind them that it can buy some #pffft .. Response to Matus opinion on parent trigger

Leave a Reply

