A teacher activist mourns – my internet has gone away – thanks Uncle Sam!


My internet has gone away…
.
I admit. I am an underpaid teacher ‘union thug’ who chooses to feed off some mysterious free signal in my neighborhood, rather than pay my cable company one hundred dollars a month for internet. One hundred dollars a month for internet, to me, is a fortune. So, I use the mysterious signal. I have accomplished much for free….
.
Off this signal, I have researched teaching strategies, written lesson plans, taken online classes, and done countless hours of grading … all, online and at home for free. So, in my mind, free internet is just Uncle Sam’s way of giving me a break… seeing as how he is not paying me for all that work that I am doing at home, off the clock.
.
Lately, however, I have used this free signal to affect some real change: protests, virtual town halls, blogs, articles, an online campaign for the veto of SB6, a boycott of BP, rallies, petitions, media blasts … and connections with amazing individuals, all fighting for the same cause.
Apparently, Uncle Sam is OK with me doing my teacher work for free… but this activism is a bit too much.
Hence, my internet has gone away…
.
It is an interesting concept. Writing offline, that is… I must admit, I am a new generation writer. I like the audience and I like the immediate feedback. I like knowing that my words are being read and that my thoughts are being considered. I like my fans… as few and insignificant as most may be, just accounts on Twitter, I suppose…
.
But, in truth, each tweet is a human, each blog hit is a person… a real, live, thinking, feeling, individual. Another, just like me, searching for a way to call out, scream for help, shake the world awake, and affect change…
So, I realize what I like more, what I need more, is the interaction with these individuals. I like sharing ideas, brainstorming strategies, and hoping together…
.
So, today, I head to the local public library to log on, post this blog, and search for some ray of hope online…
And, next payday, despite the fact that the Florida House just cut my salary 3%, nearly $1,300 a year, I will head to my cable company and sign on to the $1,200 a year for internet…
.
Thanks Uncle Sam…

One thought on “A teacher activist mourns – my internet has gone away – thanks Uncle Sam!

  1. you are actually a excellent webmaster. The web site loading velocity is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a magnificent activity on this matter!

Leave a Reply

